Book survey.

Right then, folks, I’d better start as I mean to go along… with a book survey I found online. It won’t just be surveys and random shit, I’ll also post book reviews and other good stuff.

Anyway, on with the blog! (Let’s start with the really boring (but fun… ish!) stuff, shall we?)

1. Your 10 favourite books of all time.

Well, of course, the entire Harry Potter, James Herriot, Discworld, Millennium, The Killling and Goosebumps series, plus…

  1. Roddy Doyle – Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
  2. Johanna Spyri – Heidi
  3. Anna Sewell – Black Beauty
  4. Agatha Christie – Murder On The Orient Express
  5. Keith Senior – The Bald Truth
  6. William Golding – Lord Of The Flies
  7. Tom Sharpe – Blott On The Landscape
  8. John Green – The Fault In Our Stars
  9. John Bishop – How Did All This Happen?
  10. Douglas Adams – The Hitch-hikers Guide To The Galaxy

(I could list a few more here but it only asked me for ten, so…)

2. Your 5 least favourite books of all time.

Definitely the Fifty Shades trilogy (eventually caved in and dumped the whole lot into the charity shop I work in – didn’t care what they did with them, I just wanted rid!) – not only is it crap, it’s very poorly written! Plus…

  1. Zoe Sugg – Girl Online. (Why I ever decided to get this one is beyond me. I do like her boyfriend Alfie Deyes’s Pointless books as I like a bit of creativity but I didn’t like hers.
  2. Vivian Leigh – Pillaged By The Viking. (This one was a free Kindle book sample thing with one or two chapters but I didn’t like it so I eventually deleted it.)
  3. Ronnell D. Porter – Dagger Heart. (Again, a free Kindle book. Full version, this time, not just a sample. It was still rubbish though.)
  4. Stephanie Meyer – Twilight. (The Twilight (or rather TwiSHITE) saga as a whole is rubbish. Didn’t like the books, hated the films even more.)
  5. Dan Brown – The Da Vinci Code. (I still have no idea why this is so popular. I don’t mind books about religion (I have a bible) but this is one of the worst books I’ve ever read in my life!)

(That should do it.)

3. Your favourite characters (and which books they’re from).

Neville Longbottom and Dobby (both Harry Potter), Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games), Sarah Lund (The Killing), Puck (A Midsummer Night’s Dream) and Lisbeth Salander (The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo). Again, I could list more, but these are my main favourites.

4. Characters you hate.

Lucius Malfoy, Bellatrix Lestrange, Vernon Dursley and Dolores Umbridge (all Harry Potter, obviously), Christian Grey (Fifty Shades Of Grey) and Bella Swan (Twilight). All truly awful.

5. If you were stranded on a desert island, what five books would you take with you? Include one reason for each.

I don’t think I’d have five. Maybe three. (I’d want to have my tablet which has several books on it but there’d be no electric to charge it and five books are too many.) Anyway, here goes…

  1. William Golding – Lord Of The Flies. (Their plane crashes on a desert island and the group of boys have to learn to survive in the wilderness. I’d learn from them.)
  2. Probably a comedy book of some sort. Something like a joke book or a comedian’s autobiography, for example. I need a laugh whilst I’m stranded with no hope of rescue.
  3. And, probably, a dictionary so I can learn the language of whatever country’s island I’m stuck on so I can communicate with any natives I may find and say what I want in their language. (Or, better still, use the good old international sign language of pointing at stuff!)

6. The best book you’ve read in the last year.
I have two: Good Husband Material by Trisha Ashley and Always The Bridesmaid by Lindsey Kelk.

7. The worst book you’ve read in the last year.
The Honour Of The Queen by David Weber. I bought one of his books last year and quite liked it but I wasn’t keen on this one. It’s on my Kindle app at the moment. I may delete it.

8. Your favourite quotes from books.
“Things we lose have a way of coming back to us in the end, if not always in the way we expect.” – Luna Lovegood, Harry Potter.
“If we shadows have offended, know but this and all is mended. That you have but slumbered here, while these visions did appear, and this weak and idle theme, no more yielding, but a dream.” – Puck, A Midsummer Night’s Dream.
“It is likely I will die next to a pile of things I was meaning to read.” – Lemony Snicket, A Series Of Unfortunate Events.
“Don’t think of it as dying. Think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush.” Death, Good Omens (Discworld).

9. Your favourite quotes about books.
“If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.” – Oscar Wilde.
“Books are like mirrors: if a fool looks in, you cannot expect a genius to look out.” – JK Rowling.
“A good book has no ending.” – RD Cumming.

10. Name five absolutely great film adaptations of books.

Well, obviously, the Harry Potter films were great, but here are five other stand-alone films from book adaptations that I thought were also brilliant…

  1. The Damned United. Loved the book and I actually thought Michael Sheen
    portrayed the late, great Brian Clough rather well.
  2. Bridget Jones’s Diary/The Edge Of Reason. Two for the price of one here. Haven’t seen/read the third one yet, so I can’t comment, but I do love Bridget Jones.
  3. Matilda. Oh, come on, who DOESN’T love this film?
  4. The Hitch-hiker’s Guide To The Galaxy. First it was adapted into a TV show, which I liked, and then a film starring that guy from The Office. And, despite critics panning the film left, right and centre, I actually love it!
  5. Blott On The Landscape. Not strictly a film, but it was made into a six-part TV series starring the ‘Bitty’ woman from Little Britain and him that played Poirot, so it still counts. Sort of.

(Other good film adaptations include Alice In Wonderland, Practical Magic, The Witches, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (plus its follow-ups) and Willy Wonka/Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.)

11. Name three absolutely awful film adaptations of books.

  1. Lord Of The Rings. Hated the book, hated the films. Weirdly, I’ve read The Hobbit and I quite like that, but I’ve never seen the films so I can’t comment.
  2. Fifty Shades Of Grey. Do I HAVE to explain?
  3. Twilight. See above.

12. Your favourite author(s).

JK Rowling, Trisha Ashley, Lindsey Kelk, David Hewson and Steig Larsson.

13. Your favourite book from childhood.

Anything in the Goosebumps and Puddle Lane series of books. Oh, and Bad Girls by Jacqueline Wilson. And a LOT of poetry books. There was also a book I could never put down when I was younger (I used to read it a lot when going travelling with my grandma in the car) that I can’t remember the name of. It had a black cat on the front cover (greenish cover, I think) with a full moon and the cat was sitting on a roof. I remember it was published by a company called Yearling but I can’t for the life of me remember the title. If anyone can help me, I’ll be forever grateful. Thanks.

14. A book you regret not having read sooner.

Wonder by RJ Palacio. I also have a follow-up book, 365 Days Of Wonder (yeah, I know, pretty useless for next year!) which is also based around some of the quotes from the book, plus other words/pearls of wisdom from other famous people. And I quite like both of them.

15. A book you haven’t read, but is on your “will read” list.

Again, I have two: The Girl In The Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz and Dream A Little Dream by Giovanna Fletcher.

16. A book you haven’t read and have no intention of ever reading. (If you want, tell us why you don’t want to read it.)

Grey by EL James. You can probably guess why I have no intention of reading it. EVER.

17. A book you want to like, but can’t get into for whatever reason. Why can’t you get into it?

The Game Of Thrones series. We’ve had loads of the books donated into the charity shop I work in before now but I can’t seem to get into it. Same with the hugely-popular TV series. I love anything to do with dragons but I think it’s the incesty bit that puts me off, haha!

18. A book you think is highly overrated.

I know I’ve mentioned it several times already, but I find the Twilight series of books highly overrated. That said, I did buy three of the books for a friend a few months back. She loves it. I, however, can’t stand it.

19. A book you think is woefully underrated.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. It was slammed by critics but I absolutely loved this book and I couldn’t put it down. Erin, the author, is also an artist, and the book itself is very visual and it’s as if she painted the words herself on the page so, if you have a vivid imagination, you’re in for a treat. The plot is so fascinating and so unlike anything else that’s out there. It sucks you in and you may find yourself finishing it within a day or so.

20. The environment you most enjoy reading in.

My bedroom.

21. The most disturbing book you’ve ever read.

A Clockwork Orange. Actually, I still have the book… somewhere.

22. A book you once loved but don’t anymore. What changed?

I honestly can’t think of any!

23. A book you once hated, but now like. What changed?

I never really hated it but, when I was at school, we spent over a month or more reading Of Mice And Men. I was probably the only one that didn’t find it totally boring but it did get on my nerves back then. I love it now though, weirdly. No idea why.

24. Your favourite series.

Harry PotterThe KillingMillennium and His Dark Materials.

25. The nerdiest book you’ve ever read.

Probably anything to do with trivia/quizzes or those old textbooks we used to have at school. I actually still have some of those somewhere that I found at work (I think there’s a Maths one, a Science one, someone’s old Anthology (how were they allowed to keep them?! We had to give ours back!) and a couple of French ones. Can use them to brush up my skills again.

26. Your favourite type(s) of non-fiction book.

Celebrity autobiographies, unless they’re by someone I don’t particularly like, travel guides, language dictionaries (I have loads of those) and poetry/joke books. I quite like those.

27. Your favourite genre.

Usually thrillers/crime novels, but I’ll happily read classics (such as Shakespeare) and biographies.

29. An author you wish was more well-known.

Not a clue. Every book I’ve read has a well-known author, so I don’t think I can give you a definitive answer for this one. Sorry.

30. The book you’re reading right now.

Imperfect Chemistry by Mary Frame. It’s on my Kindle app.

And that’s it! PHEW!

Until next time…

